November 20, 2017

Eye on the Trail: Awards for Iditarod XLV

Iditarod XLV Special Awards Presented at Finisher’s Banquet in Nome

Nicolas Petit asks Tanana elder Blanche Edwin to dine with him.

Lakefront Anchorage First Musher to the Yukon Award

Nicolas Petit – Tanana

$3,500 in freshly minted $1 bills and five-course gourmet meal


Wade Marrs

PenAir Spirit of Alaska Award

Wade Marrs – Ruby

$500 flight credit and John Van Zyle Art


Tara Wheatland Presents GCI Dorothy Page Halfway Award to Mitch Seavey

GCI Dorothy G. Page Halfway Award

Mitch Seavey – Huslia

$3,000 in Gold Nuggets and commemorative trophy


Mitch Seavey

Bristol Bay Native Corporation Fish First Award

Mitch Seavey

$2,000 and certificate for 25 pounds of fresh Bristol Bay Salmon


Drew McCann and Nicole Welch present Wells Fargo Award to Wade Marrs

Wells Fargo Gold Coast Award

Wade Marrs – Unalakleet

$3,500 in Gold Nuggets and commemorative trophy


Nicolas Petit

Nome Kennel Club Fastest Time from Safety to Nome Award

Nicolas Petit in 2 Hours and 27 Minutes


Sebastian Vergnaud

Jerry Austin Rookie of the Year Award

Sebastian Vergnaud 23rd place in 9 days, 8 hours, 27 minutes and 53 seconds

$2,000 and commemorative Trophy


Anchorage Chrysler Dodge Jeep Ram Official Truck Award

2017 Dodge Ram 1500 4X4 valued at $40,000


Ryan Redington

Matson Most Improved Musher Award

Ryan Redington

Improved 22 places between his 36th place finish in 2009 and 14th place finish in 2017

$2,000 and commemorative trophy


Allen Moore

Donlin Gold Sportsmanship Award

Allen Moore – ever helpful and always good to be around

$3,000 and commemorative trophy


Golden Clipboard Award

Manley Checkpoint

Commemorative Plaque


Michelle Phillips

Northern Air Cargo Herbie Nayokpuk Memorial Award

Michelle Phillips – exemplifies the traits of Herbie Nayokpuk

$1,049 in pocket change inside a Northern Air Cargo Jacket


Jessie Royer

Most Inspirational Award

Jessie Royer – 5th place with 16 dogs

Entry Fee to next Iditarod

Alaska Airlines Leonhard Seppala Humanitarian Award

Jessie Royer

Two round-trip Alaska Airline Tickets



City of Nome Lolly Medley Golden Harness Award

Pilot – Mitch Seavey

Embroidered gold-colored harness


Cindy Abbott

Red Lantern Award

Cindy Abbott – 12 days, 2 hours, 57 minutes and 31

New record by 1 day, 1 hour and 45 minutes