XLI Iditarod Champion – Mitch Seavey





Nome, Alaska – Tuesday, March 12, 2013 – IDITAROD XLI Musher Mitch Seavey (Bib # 36) of Seward, Alaska arrived into Nome, Alaska and crossed under the burled arch at 22:39 Alaska Time with 10 dogs on his team claiming his second Iditarod Championship, his first being in 2004. Thousands of fans lined the street to greet Mitch and his team on this clear, brisk night in Nome.

Seavey now holds the record for being the oldest person to have won the Iditarod Trail Sled Dog Race and his son Dallas, who was the 2012 Iditarod Champion being the youngest.

Seavey’s team traveled up the Iditarod Trail in 9 days, 07 hours, 39 minutes, 56 seconds.  The record is still held by John Baker the 2011 Champion at a time of 8 days, 18 hours, 46 minutes, 39 seconds.

Mitch Seavey is a second generation musher, following in the footsteps of his father, Dan Seavey who has finished five Iditarod’s.  Mitch’s son Dallas, 2012 Iditarod Champion is still on the trail and expected to finish within hours.

Other mushers expected to arrive into Nome, Alaska in the coming minutes and hours are Aliy Zirkle (Bib# 27), Jeff King (Bib# 18), Dallas Seavey (Bib# 19), Ray Redington, Jr. (Bib# 52), Nicolas Petit (Bib# 16), Rookie Joar Leifseth Ulsom (Bib# 32), Jake Berkowitz (Bib# 44), Aaron Burmeister (Bib# 24), and Sonny Linder (Bib# 67).  Mushers from the Iditarod Trail Sled Dog Race will continue to their trek into Nome under the Burled Arch for the next days to come.