Iditarod XLVII Special Awards

Sponsors Present Peter Kaiser Champion’s Purse

Alaska Air Transit Spirit of Iditarod Award – Nicolas Petit

First Musher to McGrath – Beaver Mitts by Loretta Maillelle of McGrath

Musher hat made by Rosalie Egrass of McGrath


GCI Dorothy G. Page Halfway Award – Aliy Zirkle

First Musher to Iditarod – $3,000 in gold nuggets, Commemorative Trophy


The Lakefront Anchorage First Musher to the Yukon Award – Nicolas Petit

First Musher to the Yukon (Anvik) – Five-course gourmet dinner,

$3,500 in one-dollar bills, Bottle of Dom Pérignon


Bristol Bay Native Corporation Fish First Award – Peter Kaiser

First Musher to Reach Kaltag – $2,000 check,

Certificate for 25# fresh-caught Bristol Bay Salmon,

Wood-burned art piece by Apayo Moore


Ryan Air Gold Coast Award – Nicolas Petit

First Musher to Reach Unalakleet – $1,500 in gold nuggets

Carved Ivory Sled Dog Team made by Leonard Savage of Holy Cross


Northrim Bank Achieve More Award – Peter Kaiser

First Musher to reach White Mountain – $2,500 check

One of a kind print by Anchorage Artist Marianne Wieland


Rookie of the Year Award  – Ed Hopkins

Top Placing Rookie – $2,000 check, Commemorative Trophy


Nome Kennel Club Fastest Time Safety to Nome Award – Wade Marrs

Musher with Fastest Time From Safety to Nome – $500


Matson Most Improved Musher – Paige Drobny

Musher Who Betters Previous Finish by the Most Places

$2,000 in Cash, Commemorative Trophy


Donlin Gold Sportsmanship Award – Matts Petterssen

Musher Demonstrating Sportsmanship – $3,000 check, Commemorative Trophy

Helping Linwood Fiedler secure his team near Post Glacier


Mushers’ Choice Award – Lance Mackey

Paid Entry Fee for 2020 Iditarod

Inspiring all Mushers Through His Comeback


Northern Air Cargo Herbie Nayokpuk Award – Aaron Peck

Musher who emulates “Herbie: the Shishmaref Cannon Ball” in his/her Attitude

$1,049 in Pocket Change inside a Northern Air Cargo Jacket


Golden Clipboard Award – Checkpoints of Rohn and Eagle Island

Outstanding Checkpoint Chosen by Competing Mushers


Leonhard Seppala Humanitarian Award – Aliy Zirkle

Musher that Demonstrates Outstanding Dog Care While Remaining Competitive

Chosen by veterinarian evaluation of Hydration, Attitude, Body Weight and Gait

Entry Fee for 2020 Iditarod, Commemorative Trophy


City of Nome Lolly Medley Golden Harness Award

Morrow (Peter Kaiser’s Leader)

Chosen by Mushers to Honor the Most Outstanding Lead Dog

 In Honor of the Late Lolly Medley

Morrow, 7 year-old female who’s led the Kaiser team into Nome three years in a row


Red Lantern Award – TBD

Final Musher of the Iditarod Trail Sled Dog Race Receives a Red Lantern for Perseverance