26 mushers enter the running for the 2024 Iditarod on opening day


As of 3:00 p.m. today, the Iditarod announced that 26  mushers have submitted their entries for the 2024 Iditarod Trail Sled Dog Race, scheduled to start in Anchorage on Saturday, March 2, 2024 with the official Restart taking place the following day in Willow.  

The Iditarod is kicking off its 52nd year with an incredibly strong group of mushers,  including current Iditarod champion Ryan Redington, plus 2023 Rookie of the Year, Eddie Burke, Jr., and many long-time veterans including but not limited to, Jason Mackey, Mille Porsild, Dallas Seavey, Riley Dyche, Jessie Royer, Nic Petit and more.  Today’s entrants include nine rookies and 17 veterans,  19 men and seven women, 10 returning mushers from the 2023 Iditarod and three past Iditarod champions. 

To see the entire list of entrants, please click here.   Musher’s who were unable to be at Iditarod Headquarters in person today are still able to sign up to run the 2024 Iditarod via mail, email or in person.  The last day to sign up for the 2024 race before the entry fee increases is November 30, 2023.

Two mushers at today’s picnic were the recipients of free entries into the 2024 Iditarod as the annual drawing took place:  Brent Sass and Eddie Burke, Jr.