Iditarod in July Trivia

The Iditarod Trivia Contest runs July 21 through July 30 on our social media channels Facebook, Instagram and Twitter. Enter by liking the post, following our page, and answering the question correctly in the comments by 5 p.m. AK time.

One winner will be randomly selected each day. Each winner will get some awesome Iditarod logo wear! We will provide the answer in the following day’s trivia post and on this page below. 



Wednesday, July 21   Thursday, July 22   Friday, July 23   Saturday, July 24   Sunday, July 25

Q: When was the first Iditarod Race to Nome?

A: 1973


Q: To whom is the Red Lantern awarded each year?

A: Last place finisher


Q: Who is the youngest musher to ever compete in the Iditarod?

A: Dallas Seavey


Q: What was the Iditarod Trail used for on a day-to-day basis in the early 1900s and through late 1930s?

A: Supplies and mail trail


Q: Who is the first musher with three consecutive victories?

A: Susan Butcher

 Monday, July 26   Tuesday,  July 27   Wednesday, July 28   Thursday, July 29   Friday, July 30

Q: Which 4 mushers were wearing bib #13 when they won?

A: Emmitt Peters, Dick Mackey, Rick Mackey and Lance Mackey


Q: Who is the only musher to win in three different decades?

A: Rick Swenson in ’77 & ’79, ’81 & ’82, and ’91


Q: Who was known as the “Shishmaref Cannonball”?

A: Herbie Nayokpuk


Q: Who was known as the “Yukon Fox”?

A: Emmitt Peters


Q: Who was the Iditarod’s first Race Marshall?

A: Dick Tozier