Iditarod Trifecta winner announcement

Thomas Waerner sitting under the burled arch in Nome as the 2020 Iditarod champion.

We are pleased to announce that Dean Pflaum of New Jersey has won the inaugural Trifecta game and $2,240 in cash. Dean was one of only 2 players out of 560 or .38% that chose Thomas Waerner – Dean’s winning pick was a finish time of 9 days 10 hours 11 minutes 12 seconds. His pick was only 27 minutes off from Thomas’ winning time of 9 days 10 hours 37 minutes and 47 seconds.  Dean stated, “I am part Norwegian, so Thomas felt like the right pick, –  I have been an Iditarod fan for a long time but guess I got lucky with the projected time.”


Second place finisher Becky Pacas projected a finish time of 9 days 3 hours 20 minutes 0 seconds and 8 dogs in harness.  


The next five most popular musher picks were Peter Kaiser 18.9%,  Joar Leifseth Ulsom 18.4%, Aliy Zirkle 12.7%, Nicolas Petit 11.4%,  and Mitch Seavey 7.8%.


Iditarod CEO Rob Urbach stated, “The Iditarod is striving the make fandom more immersive and Trifecta was our first attempt to gamify.  We are already planning on improving the experience next year to enable a more rewarding engagement.”