Become an InsiderMarch 4, 2013 6:15 pm

Finishers Video Package
Wells Fargo Winner’s Purse Award
Golden Stethoscope Award
PenAir Spirit of Alaska Award
Red Lantern Award
Sportsmanship Award
Wells Fargo Gold Coast Award
GCI Dorothy G Page Halfway Award

Golden Clipboard Award

March 17, 2014 1:36 pm
  • Presented by the mushers since 2000 to a special checkpoint

  • Voted on by the mushers

  • Presented at the Nome banquet by Mark Nordman, Race Director/Race Marshal

  • Winner-Checkpoint of Galena 

Horizon Lines Most Improved Musher Award

March 17, 2014 1:35 pm
  • Honors the musher who has bettered his/her last previous finish by the most number of places
  • Winner receives an engraved trophy plus $2,000.00
  • Presented at Nome banquet by Kenny Gill, Senior Director of Operations for Horizon Lines.

  • Winner-Richie Diehl 

Jerry Austin Rookie of the Year Award

March 17, 2014 1:32 pm
  • Presented since 1980, to the top place rookie (defined as a musher who has never before started the Race)

  • Musher receives check for $1,500.00 and trophy

  • Presented at the Nome banquet by Clara Austin (wife of Jerry Austin) and Family of St. Michael

  • Winner-Nathan Schroeder 

Alaska Airlines Leonhard Seppala Humanitarian Award

March 17, 2014 1:31 pm
  • Presented since 1982 to a top 20 team

  • Based on specific criteria to determine who has best demonstrated outstanding dog care throughout

    the Race while remaining competitive.

  • Recipient received a lead crystal cup on an illuminated wooden base

  • Presented by David Booker, Station Manager of Alaska Airlines and Chief Veterinarian, Dr. Stuart Nelson, Jr., D.V.M.

  • Winner-Martin Buser 

BBNC First Fish award

March 17, 2014 1:30 pm
  • Presented to the first musher to Galena.

  • Check for $1,000.00, Twenty-Five (25) Pounds of Bristol Bay salmon and a commemorative jacket

  • Re-presented at the Nome banquet by Jason Metrokin, President & Chief Executive Officer, Bristol

    Bay Native Corporation.

  • Winner-Aliy Zirkle 

City of Nome Lolly Medley Golden Harness Award

March 17, 2014 1:29 pm
  • Originally presented by the late Lolly Medley, Wasilla harness maker and one of two women to run the second Iditarod in 1974.
  • Embroidered gold colored harness
  • Goes to an outstanding led dog, chosen by the mushers
  • Presented at the Nome banquet by Denise Michels, Mayor of Nome
  • Winner-Beatle, Dallas Seavey’s Lead Dog

ExxonMobil Mushers Choice Award

March 17, 2014 1:28 pm
  • Each year the official finishers make the decision as to who was the most inspirational musher on the trail.
  • The award has been presented by EXXONMOBIL since 2010.
  • The Iditarod Limited Edition Gold Coin is valued at $3,900.00 and it’s surrounded by a gold chain rope.
  • Presented at the Finishers banquet by Karen Hagedorn, Production Manager for Alaska Winner-Aaron Burmeister

Jeff King Speaks From the Heart

March 14, 2014 10:02 pm

The emotional and dramatic story from just outside the Safety checkpoint.

Newton Marshall into Nome

March 14, 2014 5:57 pm

Newton Marshall arrives in Nome in 43rd place with many welcoming fans

Justin Savidas 33rd Musher to Nome

March 13, 2014 3:29 pm

Justin Savidas and his team of 11 dogs passed under the Burled Arch Thursday. This was Savidas’ 5th Iditarod and his best finish to date. Every year Justin picks a dog from his team to hoist above his head and touch the arch. This year’s dog was May, a young dog who was in lead for the last 200 miles.

John Baker 19th into Nome

March 12, 2014 1:14 pm

John Baker arrives in Nome and finishes Iditarod 42 in 19th place

Robert Sorlie arrives 21st

March 12, 2014 12:27 pm

Robert Sorlie arrives with snow flurries into Nome in 21st place.

Abbie West into Nome

March 12, 2014 12:22 pm

Abbie West finishes 18th in Iditarod 42

Iditarod 42 Live Finish Show

March 12, 2014 11:26 am

Wade Marrs into Nome in 16th Place

March 12, 2014 11:06 am

Wade Marrs finishes Iditarod 42 early on March 12.

Nathan Schroeder Finishes 17th

March 12, 2014 11:03 am

Rookie of the Year Nathan Schroeder Finishes 17th

Matt Failor is 15th Into Nome

March 12, 2014 8:50 am

Veteran musher Matt Faior pulled into Nomw Saturday. This is the first year Failor has run his own team.

Richie Diehl Pulls Into Nome

March 12, 2014 8:32 am

The 14th musher to make it to Nome is Richie Diehl. He pulled into Nome just after 7:30 Wednesday morning with 10 dogs on his string.

Joar Leifseth Ulsom 4th Into Nome

March 11, 2014 11:28 am

Norwegian Joar Leifseth Ulsom pulled into Nome just after 10 am on Tuesday with 9 dogs on his string. He was the fourth musher to reach the Burled Arch.

Mitch Seavey Reaches Nome in 3rd Place

March 11, 2014 8:42 am

Last year’s Iditarod champion Mitch Seavey pulled into Nome just after 7:30 am on Tuesday and was the third dog team to reach the Burled Arch.