Exclusive Race Coverage (Page 4) : :

Ten Tips for Taking Care of Your Dog

PROVIDE A PROTECTED AND CLEAN LIVING ENVIRONMENT FOR YOUR DOG. Shelter from the elements and hazards, as well as good hygiene, are basic to a quality life.         ALWAYS KEEP FRESH WATER AVAILABLE. Maintaining optimal hydration is important for health and energy. FEED A QUALITY DIET AND PREVENT OBESITY. Overweight humans and animals can adversely …

Jessie Royer wins Northern Air Cargo 4×4 drawing

Thanks to all who tuned in to the Northern Air Cargo 4×4 musher drawing! If you missed it, veteran musher Jessie Royer won the Northern Air Cargo 4×4. We drew keys almost to the last musher. We also announced Aaron Burmeister as the Northern Air Cargo Herbie Nayokpuk Memorial Award recipient. Watch the full video …

Aaron Burmeister honored with 2020 Northern Air Cargo Herbie Nayokpuk Memorial Award

Veteran Iditarod musher Aaron Burmeister of Nome and Nenana, Alaska, was chosen as the musher who most represents the spirit of Herbie Nayokpuk, the “Shishmaref Cannonball,” and was bestowed the Northern Air Cargo Herbie Nayokpuk Memorial Award.   Race checkers along the Norton Sound part of the Iditarod trail – from Unalakleet to Nome – …

Iditarod’s work isn’t done yet! Return bags are finally getting sorted thanks to gracious volunteers.

  We want to thank our volunteers and mushers who took time this week to help us with the sorting of musher return bags and race equipment that came back from the trail. We are about a month late doing all of this due to COVID-19 restrictions. Couldn’t have done it without you all!

Community of Shaktoolik awarded Iditarod 2020 Golden Clipboard Award

The checkpoint of Shaktoolik has been awarded the Iditarod’s Golden Clipboard Award for the 2020 race, a distinguished recognition voted on by the Iditarod Official Finishers Club. Shaktoolik was chosen for its residents’ incredible commitment to providing mushers the best checkpoint accommodations possible in light of restrictions and concerns over COVID-19. Out of precaution and …

Veteran Iditarod musher Tim Pappas wins 2020 Matson Most Improved Musher Award

Iditarod veteran musher Tim Pappas of Big Lake, Alaska, won the Matson Most Improved Musher Award in only his second Iditarod race. Pappas completed the nearly 1,000-mile race in 11 days, 57 minutes and 36 seconds, finishing in 20th place. Pappas improved 31 places from his previous best finish of 51st in 2016, his rookie …

Northern Air Cargo Honda 4×4 Musher Drawing on Facebook Live

  We are pleased to announce that the Northern Air Cargo Honda Rancher 4×4, pictured, will be awarded to a musher via a special NAC/Iditarod Facebook Live broadcast Thursday, April 30 at 4 p.m. Alaska time (5 p.m. PT, 6 p.m MT, 7 p.m. CT, 8 p.m. ET). Normally the 4-wheeler is given away to …

Husky Talk with Mille Porsild

  Student podcasters have a great conversation with experienced musher Mille Porsild. Listen to Mille talk about expeditions and how she is excited about running her first Iditarod. Originally recorded in Oct. 2019. All episodes of Husky Talk are available on SoundCloud.

Iditarod releases new podcast Tales from the Trail

In this first episode of Tales from the Trail CEO Rob Urbach begins with an interview with 2020 Iditarod Champion, Thomas Waerner.  Our team plans to record more interviews with mushers, volunteers and more, sharing a wide range of stories from past and present races. You can find all of our podcasts on our website …

Iditarod Champion, Thomas Waerner, One on One with CEO Rob Urbach

2020 Champion, Thomas Waerner, shares his life long dream and how he felt when he accomplished it.