Daily Update- 3/19/2012 The Awards Banquet

Posted by in
Date: March 19, 2012 12:26 am

Hi Boys and Girls,

All but two mushers are in. Jan Steves and Bob Chlupach should be in early this morning. Last night was the awards banquet in Nome.  It was held at the Nome Recreation Center. The banquet is to congratulate all the finishers of this years race.  There are also awards given out.  This years awards are:

PenAir Spirit of Alaska Award– Presented to the first musher to reach McGrath.  This years winner is Aily Zirkle

GCI Dorothy G. Page Halfway Award– Presented to the first musher to reach the halfway checkpoint which this year was Iditarod.  This years winner is Jim Lanier

Wells Fargo Bank Alaska Gold Coast Award– Present to the first musher to reach the “Gold Coast” community of Unalakleet.  This years winner is Aily Zirkly

Nome Kennel Club Fastest Time from Safety to Nome Award– Presented to the musher who has the fastest time from Safety to Nome. The winner of this award had to finish in the top 20. This years winner is Mike Williams Jr.

Horizon Lines Most Improved Musher Award– Presented to the musher who   has bettered his/her most recent finish by the most number of places. This years winner is Rohn Buser

Jerry Austin Rookie of the Year Award– Presented to the top place rookie.  This rookie could not of ever started the race before this year.  This years winner is Brent Sass.

Fred Meyer Sportsmanship Award– Mushers vote on this award.  This years winner is Lance Mackey.

ExxonMobil Mushers Choice Award– Presented to the musher chosen by his or her peers who was the most inspirational on the trail.  This years winner is Dan Seavey

Northern Air Cargo Herbie Nayokpuk Memorial Award– Presented to the musher chosen by staff and officials as the person who most closely mimics Herbie  in his/her attitude on the trail. This years winner is Michelle Phillips

Northern Air Cargo 4 Wheeler Award– Presented to a musher who has finished the race and whose randomly picked key starts the 4 wheeler.  This year’s winner is Peter Kaiser.

Golden Clipboard Award– Presented by race officials to the most outstanding checkpoint.  This years winner is the community of Nulato.

Golden Stethoscope Award– Presented by the Iditarod Official Finishers Club (IOFC) to the veterinarian whom they feel was the most helpful on the trail.  This years winner is Ruth Kothe, DVM and Tanja Kruse DVM

Alaska Airlines Leonhard Seppala Humanitarian Award– Based on specific criteria to determine who has best demonstrated outstanding dog care throughout the Race while remaining competitive.  This years winner is Dee Dee Jonrowe

City of Nome Lolly Medley Golden Harness Award Winner– Presented to an outstanding lead dog, chosen by the mushers.  This years winner is Guinness, Dallas Seavey’s lead dog.

Wells Fargo Red Lantern– Presented to the last musher to finish the race.  This years winner is:  This award hasn’t been awarded yet as there are still 2 mushers out on the trail.

Wow, that’s impressive.  Congratulations again to all the finishers and to all the winners.  Hope to see everyone back next year.

See you on the Trail